HAC (Hazardous-Area-Classification)

Hardous Area Classification


HAC (Hazardous Area Classification)

JOGI provides hazardous area classifications for hazardous area environments containing all dust, gas and flammable liquids. The industries handling hazardous dust, gas or liquids are power plants, grain processing units, food and beverage production facilities, coal handling and process plants, pharmaceutical units, refineries, etc.

Hazardous Area Classification is a method of analysing and classifying the environment where explosive gas atmospheres may occur. The main purpose is to facilitate the proper selection and installation of apparatus to be used safely in that environment, taking into account the properties of the flammable materials that will be present.

Hazardous areas are classified into zones based on an assessment of the frequency of the occurrence and duration of an explosive gas atmosphere, as follows:
Zone 0: An area in which an explosive gas atmosphere is present continuously or for long periods.
Zone 1: An area in which an explosive gas atmosphere is likely to occur in normal operation.
Zone 2: An area in which an explosive gas atmosphere is not likely to occur in normal operation and, if it occurs, will only exist for a short time.


We follow IEC 60079 for our HAC studies. The typical Area Classification Process consists of following steps:

  • Site Visit
  • Acquiring details of various chemicals being handled, stored or processed
  • Identifying the source and extent of release
  • Verifying the plant layout
  • Assessment of Zones
  • Drawing the ZONE contours on layout
  • Preparing the report with findings and recommendations
Areas of Expertise
  • Design for flammable gases and liquids & combustible dusts
  • Inspections & Auditing of existing flameproof equipments
  • Conformity assessment
  • Training for maintenance of equipments and safe practices in classified ZONEs.

Customer References